Parish Council

Next Parish Council Meeting

The next Parish Council Meeting is on

Tue, 3rd October 2017

7:30 PM

at

South Witham Village Hall

The Big Clean

southkesteven_0.png  South Kesteven District Council  is launching the BIG CLEAN

This is initially a 12 week street cleaning programme for the District starting in August

If you know of any grotspots within South Witham village that need attention, such as

Graffiti, fly tipping, weeds, litter, broken street furniture/signs

Please report to SKDC at

www.southkesteven.gov.uk/skbigclean or by calling 01476 406066

Also if you are willing to help with the clean up, please visit the website for further details.

For updates on the project follow #SKBigClean

The Parish Council (PC) represents the interests of the local community in South Witham and is made up of 11 councillors and the parish clerk. Meetings are usually held on the first Tuesday of every month, at 7.30 pm in the village hall on Water Lane. Residents are welcome to attend these meetings and there is a 15 minute public forum between 7.30 pm and 7.45 pm, when members of the public may ask questions or make short statements to the Council.

An annual parish meeting is usually held in May at which the Council reports to the electorate on the past year, presents the annual accounts and answers any questions.

Notice of meetings, agendas and minutes are posted on notice boards around the village and Minutes will also appear on this website.

Cemetery

A new cemetery has been established adjacent to the allotment area, at the junction of North Witham Road and Moor Lane which opened on the 1st January 2014.  This cemetery is the responsibility of South Witham Parish Council (SWPC) and the parish clerk will maintain a register of burials for this purpose. 

After January 2014, the existing cemetery on the North Witham Rd will not have any new burials, apart from those in reserved spaces. It will only be open for cremations. This cemetery is the responsibility of the church.

Allotments

There are 25 allotments at the junction of N Witham Road and Moor Lane. The rents vary according to the size of the individual plots. At present all are being used.  The rental agreements run from May to May and should anyone be interested in obtaining an allotment, should one become vacant, then please contact the Parish Council Clerk.

Play Areas

The Parish Council maintains the play area, the skateboard park and the basket ball unit on the recreation ground behind the village hall, Water Lane; this not only includes repairs caused by general wear and tear but also the mending  of damage done by deliberate vandalism.

Monthly safety inspections are undertaken by SWPC and there is an annual Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents, (ROSPA) inspection by Playsafety Ltd.

Finance

The Parish Council has the authority to raise a precept to finance its expenditure. The Parish Council has the responsibility of ensuring that the finances are in good order and value for money is obtained when purchasing services and goods.

Traffic and Highways

The Parish Council has regular contact with Lincolnshire Country Council (LCC) Highways. There are ongoing discussions with LCC Highways on resolving the parking and speeding problems in consultation with the Police.

Policing and Crime Prevention

The Parish  Council is active in working with the Police in reducing and preventing crime in the villages. The Police are routinely invited to Parish Council meetings

Street lighting

The Parish Council reports faulty streetlights that should be fixed by the contractor within 10 days.

Clearing Litter

SWPC employs a community street cleaner to routinely litter-pick in the village, to keep it as tidy as possible. This is partially funded by a grant from South Kesteven District Council, (SKDC). The District Council is responsible for the provision and emptying of litterbins around the village.

There is also an annual litter-pick and village clean up, usually in the spring. All residents are invited to participate in this.

Planning

The Parish Council is a statutory consultee in planning but has no decision-making powers.

 

Latest News

South Witham Parish Council Meetings

Wednesday, 6 January, 2016 - 19:30
Tuesday, 2 February, 2016 - 19:30
Tuesday, 1 March, 2016 - 19:30
Monday, 4 April, 2016 - 19:30
Tuesday, 3 May, 2016 - 19:30
Tuesday, 7 June, 2016 - 19:30
Tuesday, 5 July, 2016 - 19:30
Tuesday, 6 September, 2016 - 19:30
Tuesday, 4 October, 2016 - 19:30
Tuesday, 1 November, 2016 - 19:30
Tuesday, 6 December, 2016 - 19:30
Tuesday, 10 January, 2017 - 19:30
Tuesday, 7 February, 2017 - 19:30
Tuesday, 7 March, 2017 - 19:30
Tuesday, 4 April, 2017 - 19:30
Tuesday, 2 May, 2017 - 19:30
Tuesday, 6 June, 2017 - 19:30
Tuesday, 4 July, 2017 - 19:30
Tuesday, 5 September, 2017 - 19:30
Tuesday, 3 October, 2017 - 19:30
Tuesday, 7 November, 2017 - 19:30
Tuesday, 5 December, 2017 - 19:30
Share

Lottery Funded Free Keep Fit

FREE ADULT KEEP FIT CLASS 

To suit adults of ALL ages
 

Are you someone who hasn't exercised for a long time?
Are you someone who is a senior member of the community?
Are you someone who is active and excercises regularly?

Then this class is perfect for all of you

To take place at South Witham Community Primary School
Run by Finding Fitness Ltd

Finding Fitness Ltd                                                                             Big Lottery Funded

Takes place every Tuesday during term time

 

Keeping Fit Image

The class will invlove aerobic circuit training and will be tailor-made to
suit ALL levels of fitness, ages and physical activeness. The sessions will be fun, sociable and will include music.

This class is COMPLETELY FREE due to lottery funding
achieved by South Witham Community Group

This class is open to the whole community, so bring along a friend

 

Tuesday, 12 April, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 19 April, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 26 April, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 3 May, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 10 May, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 17 May, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 24 May, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 31 May, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 7 June, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 14 June, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 21 June, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 28 June, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 5 July, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 12 July, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 19 July, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 26 July, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 2 August, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 9 August, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 16 August, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 23 August, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 30 August, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 6 September, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 13 September, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 20 September, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 27 September, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 4 October, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 11 October, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 18 October, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 1 November, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 8 November, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 15 November, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 22 November, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 29 November, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 6 December, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 13 December, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 20 December, 2016 - 10:30
Tuesday, 10 January, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 17 January, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 24 January, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 31 January, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 7 February, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 21 February, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 28 February, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 7 March, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 14 March, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 21 March, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 28 March, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 18 April, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 25 April, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 2 May, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 9 May, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 16 May, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 23 May, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 6 June, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 13 June, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 20 June, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 27 June, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 4 July, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 11 July, 2017 - 10:30
Tuesday, 18 July, 2017 - 10:30
Share

Pumpkin CompetitionDo you have what it takes to grow a GIANT pumpkin ?

Do you have what it takes to grow a

Giant pumpkin ?

Giant Pumpkins these are not but is yours

 

This year the South Witham Parish Council is holding a Giant Pumpkin Growing competition.

Open to all residents of South Witham.

The weigh in is to be confirmed, but should be mid-October 

 

 

Your pumpkin must be home grown

 

There is a trophy for the heaviest pumpkin.

To take part please register with

Jim Oldfield - 07723344286

 

SWPC logo

Share

Sunflower Competition

Do you have what it takes to grow the

Tallest sunflower ?

 The Tallest Sunflower Competition

This year the Parish Council is holding a Tallest Sunflower Growing competition.

Open to all residents of South Witham.

The measuring date is to be confirmed, but should be mid-September 

 

There is a trophy for the Tallest Sunflower

 

To enter please Register with

Jim Oldfield - 07723344286

 

SWPC logo

 

 

 

Share

Notice of Temporary Road Closure

 

LCC Logo

 Please reply to:

 Traffic Orders

 Unit 7, Witham Park House

Waterside South, Lincoln, LN5 7JN

Telephone: 01522 782070

Email: highways@lincolnshire.gov.uk

My ref: WS/TROS/3/West/281/2016 

 

TEMPORARY ROAD CLOSURE: South Witham 

Please note it will be necessary to impose a temporary restriction to all vehicular traffic on the road(s) detailed below. Adequate arrangements will be made to enable pedestrians to access premises in the affected area while works progress. 

REASON FOR CLOSURE:   Essential maintenance works by Clancy Docwra/Anglian Water

LOCATION: Water Lane (In vicinity of number 21)

PERIOD OF CLOSURE: 7/6/2016 to 9/6/2016

ALTERNATIVE ROUTE: High Street, Broadgate Road (South Witham), A1 to Colsterworth, B676 Bourne Road/Stainby Road (Colsterworth), Old Post Lane, South Witham Road (North Witham), North Witham Road (South Witham) & Vice Versa

 

If you have any queries, or require further information, please contact the South Kesteven & Sleaford Highways Division on 01522 782070.

 

Yours faithfully

 

 

for Executive Director 

(Communities)

 

 

Tuesday, 7 June, 2016 (All day)
Share

Pages

Subscribe to Latest News